Tutorial to Root Android 2.3.6 XXJVU on Samsung Galaxy S GT I9000

Samsung recently released the Android 2.3.6 XXJVU for Europe for Samsung Galaxy S GT I9000 (International Version). Incase you are looking for rooting the same, follow the tutorial below:

PLEASE NOTE: ROOTING THE PHONE VOIDS THE WARRANTY. PLEASE CONTINUE AT YOUR OWN RISK

Incase you are looking for the installation of Android 2.3.6 navigate to the tutorial here.

Some of the prerequisites to be followed:

  • Take the back-up of all the apps: To do so, in case you have a rooted phone, you may use Titanium Backup from Android Market. If you don’t have rooted phone, you can use Astro File Manager  (Available in Android Market for free) to take the backup.
  • Backup of contacts: Mostly all the Android devices are preset to sync the contacts with the gmail account. In-case, you have disabled it, you can enable it by getting into Contacts–>Options–>More–>Accounts and select the google account and check mark the sync contacts option.
  • Taking back-up of Call Logs and Messages: You can use third party apps from android market like SMS Backup + (Again freely available) which will sync your logs and messages to your gmail account as labels which can be easily restored later.
  • Download the zip file: CF-Root-XW_TMN_JVU-v4.3-CWM3RFS.zip
  • Downloading the ODIN & PIT files: Flashprogram_Samsung_I9000__Pits.rar
  • Downloading the Drivers for the PC: SAMSUNG_USB_Driver_for_Mobile_Phones_v1_3_2300_0.zip

Once done with the prerequisites, carryout the following steps:

  1. Unzip the ODIN, CF-Root-XW_TMN_JVU-v4.3-CWM3RFS.zip and Drivers to their respective folders in case it requires any password, it will be “samfirmware.com”. 
  2. Now, the first thing to be done is install the phone drivers on the PC which you are to use for flashing the ROM. To do this, navigate to  SAMSUNG_USB_Driver_for_Mobile_Phones_v1_3_2300_0folder and select the appropriate setup x86 or x64 based on the type of OS you are using on your PC.
  3. Once this one has been installed, get your GT I9000 in the download mode by using the 3-Button combo. For that, first switch off the phone and wait for it to vibrate a little just to confirm that it is completely switched off. Then, press the three buttons: Power KeyVolume Downand  Home Key  and hold until you see a green android saying “Downloading”
  4. Next, goto Flashprogram_Samsung_I9000__Pits folder and open I9003_Odin3 v1.82.exe (Don’t bother the  I9003 in the file name. It is compatible for I9000 also)
  5. Once ODIN has be opened, connect your phone to the PC while it is in download mode. Once connected, an “Added” remark will appear on the message window.
  6. Then, click on the PDA button, navigate to the CF-Root-XW_TMN_JVU-v4.3-CWM3RFS.tar and select it.
  7. Next, click on start and wait for a minute or so until message window shows “All threads completed” and “Pass” displayed on the top left box.
  8. The phone will then automatically reboot.

DISCLAIMER: ROOTING THE PHONE WILL VOID THE WARRANTY. PLEASE PROCEED WITH CAUTION, I TAKE NO RESPONSIBILITY FOR THE SAME. PLEASE ROOT THE ROM AT YOUR OWN RISK. IN CASE OF ANY DOUBTS OR PROBLEMS, PLEASE FEEL FREE TO COMMUNICATE THEM VIA THE COMMENTS AND THEY SHALL BE ADDRESSED ASAP.

95 thoughts on “Tutorial to Root Android 2.3.6 XXJVU on Samsung Galaxy S GT I9000

  1. Pingback: Tutorial: Install Teamhacksung’s ICS CM9 ALPHA for Galaxy S (BUILD 15) for SGS GT I9000 « Going Beyond Windows……..

  2. Pingback: Going Beyond Windows……..

  3. at point 6: “Then, click on the PDA button, navigate to the CF-Root-XW_TMN_JVU-v4.3-CWM3RFS.zip and select it.”.. but when i tried to select a zip file by clicking PDA, the file selector window saying that i can only select “.tar/.md5/.smd” files. and the zip file is not apearing in the file/folder list. (i am using windows 7). But after that when I copy and paste the file name in the “File name:” box and select open then the zip file is selected for the PDA filed. Now when I cliked on the start button a message apearing within a second saying “All threads completed. (succeed 0 / failed 1)”. Then I pressed the start button twice again and the same thing happend again, but the message was “All threads completed. (succeed 0 / failed 0). please let me know is there anything you missed.

  4. Pingback: Android Tutorial: Install TeamICSSGS 4.0.3 RC 4.2 for Samsung Galaxy S « Going Beyond Windows……..

  5. Pingback: Android Tutorial: Install Teamhacksung’s ICS 4.0.3 CM9 ALPHA (Build 16) for Samsung Galaxy S GT I9000 « Going Beyond Windows……..

  6. I am doing this currently, I just completed one of the last step and now waiting for Odin to be done, but its taking a very long time.

    Added!!
    Removed!!
    Added!!
    Enter CS for MD5..
    Check MD5.. Do not unplug the cable..
    Please wait..
    CODE_I9000XXJVU_CL851880_REV03_user_low_ship.tar.md5 is valid.
    MODEM_I9000XXJVU_REV_00_CL1092175.tar.md5 is valid.
    GT-I9000-CSC-MULTI-OXAJVU.tar.md5 is valid.
    Checking MD5 finished Sucessfully..
    Leave CS..
    Odin v.3 engine (ID:3)..
    File analysis..
    SetupConnection..

    Its been stuck at Setupconnection for a while.. How long should it take? Or am I impatient?

    • Yes, it can take about 5-7 min. But the final log must say “passed!”. Be sure that you are flashing it on GT I9000 only and not on any other variant of SGS.

        • In that case, we don’t have a choice, but to pull the battery, anyways…
          Try it out again…
          Pull the battery
          Again enter into the download mode
          Do make sure to use the files properly in odin and check/uncheck the right options as mentioned in the tutorial.

          • Okay, I’ll try that. Thanks for the support and fast-respones, by the way, I appreciate it! :D

            Okay, when I puled my battery out, Odin said this:

            All threads completed. (succeed 0 / failed 1)
            Removed

            - And the buttons has been “un-locked” again.. Should I try again, I have the PDA, PHONE and CSC-files ready to go?

          • Okay…
            Just one thing… you need to include the pit file too…
            Also, make sure the ‘Re-Partition’checkbox in ODIN is selected. Also, Auto Reboot and F.Reset Time checkboxes should be selected too. Leave everything else on Odin untouched.
            Do make sure that kies or any other softwares are not running in the background on the PC. (Exit them from the tray)
            So,
            Get into download mode
            start odin
            connect the phone to pc
            next add pit/pda/phone/csc files
            confirm the check boxes of re-partition, auto reboot f. reset time, etc… as mentioned above
            and go ahead.
            there shouldn’t be any problem then!!

          • Ahhh! I re-selected the files and tried again, and it was done in 3 minutes! Thank you very much! Now I can try out ICS later today, when my head stops hurting from getting this to work.. (;;

            Thanks again!

  7. Pingback: Android Tutorial: Install ICS 4.0.4 Dark Knight for SGS GT I9000 « Going Beyond Windows……..

  8. Pingback: Android Tutorial | Install Dark Knight 1.0 | ICS 4.0.4 [Leaked] for SGS GT I9000 « Going Beyond Windows……..

  9. Pingback: Android Tutorial | Install Dark Knight 2.1 | ICS 4.0.4 [Leaked] for SGS GT I9000 « Going Beyond Windows……..

  10. files: Flashprogram_Samsung_I9000__Pits.rar WHAT IS THE PASSWORD FOR THIS .RAR FILE ??? THANKS IN ADVANCE.
    BEST REGARDS

  11. Pingback: Android Tutorial: Install Teamhacksung’s ICS 4.0.3 CM9 ALPHA (Build 17) for Samsung Galaxy S GT I9000 « Going Beyond Windows……..

  12. Pingback: Android Tutorial | Install Dark Knight 3.0 | ICS 4.0.4 [Leaked] for SGS GT I9000 « Going Beyond Windows……..

  13. phanse
    February 16th, 2012 at 9:15 PM

    you still need to root it first!!!

    Sorry, but isnt this tutorial for root? Peter was doing the root, right? so when you say he needs to root it first (for ics), it means whats in this tutorial is the flashing method?

    So, we do the flash first then the root, but this tutorial is for root, or flash?
    ahhhh, im confused, sorry for my dumb questions.. XP

    Another thing, after we do whats in this tutorial, are we able to see the superuser apk in the applications? its only when we see that apk that we know thats rooted, right?

    its that i have flashed my firmware (to 2.3.6 xxjvu), but now im a bit confused what to do.

    my final question is if im doing whats in this tutorial, i am going to root my sgs, right? its just: open odin put pda (cf-root), click start, sgs reboots, and its done. am i right?

    sorry for all this (questions and english xp).. im a newbie..

    Thank you for your help!

    • There might have been a few confusions with you. Let me clarify the same:
      1. This particular tutorial on which we are comment as of now is to Root the Android 2.3.6 Stock ROM using the Chainfire Root Method.
      2. To install the Android 2.3.6 Stock ROM (Not Rooted), flashed using the ODIN here is the tutorial: http://phanse.wordpress.com/2012/01/22/tutorial-to-install-android-2-3-6-xxjvu-official-on-samsung-galaxy-s-gt-i9000/
      3. The thing you are talking with respect to ICS is that, this is the best ROM to be on if you want to install ICS. That is, if you are using Android 2.3.6 and try to install ICS over it, the success rate of installation is better.
      4. Yes, once the ROM is rooted, you can find the superuser.apk in the menu.

      Hope this clears all your doubts!! :)

  14. Hey thanks for the update :),
    i have an issue please it would be really kind of u to solve it.
    i bought mine from Dubai, its the international version
    ive been updating my phone with every new update but the problem is…its really fast for a week then it starts to slow down and get stuck for minutes..
    i sometimes have to take the battery out and do a restart..
    most of the time when i end a call, the phone goes into crazy mode..drops all wires less communications…and again i have to restart it :/

    I was thinking that i should root it with a faster ROM…which 1 should i use which is faster and more stable ..
    Thanks :)

    • Well at time installing a lot of apps on the phone also creates this kind of issues. Plus, if the apps are those ad supported free apps then you are on a ride not only experiencing slow phones but it also consumes extra battery. Recent study has suggested that by just removing the ads from Angry Birds, one is able to save around 70% battery. So, effectively, the game itself was consuming just 30% of the resources!!!

      If you are looking for an official ROM then Android 2.3.6 is the one for you. If you want to try some of the custom ROMs… then you have many gingerbread based stable ROMs like CyanogenMOD 7.2, MIUI, Darky ROM etc….

      If you are the one of the experimenting kinds, you can try out the unstable latest ROMS based on ICS like Team ICSSGS RC4.2, CM 9 or the Dark Knight!!!

      Hope that answers all your questions!!

  15. Hello need help. I followed the tutorial and it succeeded. But the device does not reboot. It gets stuck in an enless cycle flashing Galaxy S GT-i9000. Please advise

  16. mine boots up to say ‘confirm password’ i don’t have the password. i thought flashing the thing might help. any ideas?

      • I have a similar encounter. I had falshed my GTI-9000 to Gingerbread XXJVU few years back and I recently bought an S4. I thought I would falsh it to ICS before giving it to my wife but found the User Interface not to my liking. So I decided to flash it back to XXJVU. Then when the phone rebooted, it displayed “confirm password”. I do not have a SIM nor ext SD card slotted in. I could send you a picture of how it looks like if you require, but I don’t know how to do it here.

        Hope you can help. Thanks in advance.

        • Perhaps you might have used the encrypt device option available from ICS onwards Android Systems. Just try to recall the password you might have set then, flash back to ICS, remove the encryption and the use ODIN to install GB.

  17. Pingback: Android Tutorial | Install Dark Knight 5.5 | ICS 4.0.4 Nexus port for SGS GT I9000 « Going Beyond Windows……..

  18. Pingback: Android Tutorial | Install ICS333 1.1 | ICS 4.0.4 by Team 3xtr3m3 « Going Beyond Windows……..

  19. Pingback: Android Tutorial | Install ICS333 2.0.1 | ICS 4.0.4 by Team 3xtr3m3 « Going Beyond Windows……..

  20. Pingback: Android Tutorial | Install TAJB ROM | Jelly Bean Port for Galaxy S GT I9000 « Going Beyond Windows……..

  21. hi phanse, thanks for your tutorial. I’m really appreciate. by following the instruction above. I’ve complete and the system reboot. Now, would you mind if i ask you what should i do next ? i’m actually new to rooting and installing custom rom. I’ve read a post that i need to root and install clockworkmod recovery before i can upgrade to Jelly beans. which was what i’m moving towards to. Would you mind to offer some tips or advice what should i do next as i thought i saw from somewhere that i need superadmin for clockworksmod recovery…etc

    Thanks

    • Root access is definitely required to flash custom ROMs. You can find the link to the tutorial for rooting your current ROM (2.3.6 XXJVU) above.
      I’ll be putting up a new tutorial for installing Jelly Bean (CyanogenMOD 10) in a day or two… I’m just checking out the 10/09/2012 released CM10 ROM myself. I found it pretty much promising and could be used on a daily basis. So, I’ll just update it then… Till then keep following the blog! :)

  22. Hello Phanse,
    following your tutorials I succed in first install : 2.3.6 XXJVU
    firmware and then root my Galaxy S GT I9000
    Please consider I’m an absolute beginner.
    Thank You for being out there to help us .
    Carlo

  23. Hi Phanse,
    Regret to say that your rooting your tutorial did not work on my SGS GT-I9000. I flashed 2.3.6 XXJVU firmware using your tutorial, thanks a lot due to this I could correct Reboot Loop problem.
    One thing is very confusing that is the name of CF… file you talked about to flash is different from the one which got downloaded from the link you have suggested in your tutorial. Is it the cause of root failure? Though you have suggested the CF file name to some users in your blog.
    I’m really getting impatient to have a live chat with you regarding the whole scene of ROOTING AND UPDATING my phone. Just tell me, how can access you?
    TIA,
    DasAnudas.

  24. Hi, did the 2.3.6 tutorial and now this
    but theres a problem with my 3g mobile networks.
    Before the update ( 2.1 ) the 3g would not disconnect, ever, it was on 24/7. And then after your 2.3.6 I cant turn it on at all.
    Now I did this root thing and the phone is complaining that it cant find my service provider, 3g still wont turn on.

    What is wrong and can I even go back to the original anymore ?

    • Phone registered on networks, but cannot connect to 3G !!!
      Wifi works fine, everything else works fine, why isnt 3g working anymore ? Ive tried Widgetsoid to solve it, the phone settings do nothing

    • Just try to clear all the cache in the recovery and flash the ROM and root it again. Then check if your modem matches your region. If not, just let me know the region, I’ll try and fetch the same for you!!

      • The problem with the internet was that the flashing deleted my APN, set up a custom for my operator. Spent couple of hours looking for this. Also, remind people to download keyboard layouts for their corresponding countries.

        Its all sorted now, thanks anyways. Region was Finland btw

        Goog tutorials but you need to put some ” what if ” situations up here

  25. hey i have done all the steps successfully….
    but my phone is just restarting constantly..
    nothing is happening after that .. finally i have to remove the batteries & keep my phone off…

  26. thanks phanse for your immediate response ..
    i am a beginer .. i have gone into clockwork recover mode , wiped out all my cache data .
    can you please tell exactly how to install install the 2.3.6 ROM .. does it mean doing steps 5 to 7 again ?

  27. Sure , Lemme do that..
    How to check if my phone is international version .. i have purchased it in Bangalore in 2010.. it Says GT-I9000 .. i have seen inside the phone’s backside .. it says made in Korea… sorry to bother you for this..

  28. Thanks Phanse .. I just wanted to know your reviews on how efficient 4.1.2 cynogen is for power consumption .. i had earlier used sepmahore 4.1.2 & it was consuming batttery like crazy ..

    • Since the device is not rooted, you don’t really have many options!! You can download the “Astro File Manager” from the Play Store and use the app backup option to backup all the apps.
      For the backup of call logs and SMS, you can use the “SMS Backup+” which again is freely available in the Play Store
      You can backup the Contacts by Syncing them with your GMail Account!!

  29. HI Phanse,
    Just want to understand , what will happen if i flash my GT-I9000 with N7100(Note2) Stock Rom… Will it make my phone dead ?

    • Well that is a really bad proposition. What you are proposing is to fix the Tyres made for Bike as replacement in your car. Please don’t even think of doing that. You’d screw up the phone big time!!

  30. Hi Mr.Phanse i can see that u r a real expert in the android,
    well i only have just one common issue or problem which is making me so nervous is that whenever i update my GB 2.3.3 Rom to any stock rom i always get this error after making a call and the other person didnt answer so i get this (PROCESS .COM PHONE ANDROID HAS STOPPED WORKING UNEXEPECTEDELY or UNFORTUNATELY) ,and u might ask me if i tried custom roms,yes i did but i m not sure if that problem was persistent or not as i didnt like any othese custom roms based on JB
    I’d also appreciate if u recommend some stable and stock similar roms i can try
    Hope u can reply ASAP as i really like to update my rom soon especially i like the GB 2.3.6 or any other stock or custom u might recommend
    Thanks in advance and sorry for the long post :)

  31. Hello phanse,i really comend ur good job,i m tru with my installation tru ur tutoral thanx so much,plz i want to update my galaxy to 4.2.1,and i need ur guidian plz put me tru thanz

    • Hi,

      You may follow the tutorial to install CM10 posted here

      I shall soon be updating a new tutorial for the installation of CM10.1 (Android 4.2.1 Jelly Bean) Till then keep following to get the latest updates :)

  32. Hi,upgraded my gt i9000 from exist ROM to “Dark knight 4″,it is working fine, but im not satisfied with this bcz music player always showing message has stopped, so finally i have upgraded again to “ICS_4.0.3_MR1-RC4.2_I9000″.this time my mobile is not recognized any network. i have treid with manual and automatic settings also..not at all worked…no use at all without network, can some one help me on this.Plz

  33. Everything is fine I rolled back from JB to GB by the way u suggested but all the audio feature are not working . The music player,ringtone, incoming calls are not working. I have adjusted the volume control but still i can’t do anything. I am not sure about the make(the country) of my phone but I am using it in india at present. Is it because this Rom doesn’t suit my mobile?

  34. Pingback: Android Tutorial | Install Android 4.2.2 CyanogenMOD 10.1 Nightly / Experimental M Series ROM | SGS GT I9000 | Going Beyond Windows........

  35. I had flashed my GTI-9000 to Gingerbread XXJVU few years back and I recently bought an S4. I was going to give the GTI-9000 to my wife but I thought I would upgrade it to ICS first. After successfuly upgraded to ICS I found the User Interface not to my liking. So I decided to reverse it to XXJVU. Then when the phone rebooted, it displayed “confirm password”.

    I have no idea what the password is nor why this happened. Any solutions?
    Hope you can help. Thanks in advance.

  36. I performed both the updating with XXJVU and rooting same following your excellent guides. They were both flawless experiences. I can’t thank you sufficiently. Keep it up.

  37. after i perform the procedure above and it notify pass my phone now will not start.
    it just keep flashing the intro for starting..
    Galaxy S
    GT-I9000

    SAMSUNG

    .it just keep on repeating like that..
    is something wrong?

Leave a Reply

