ICS Beta 2 Release for Samsung Galaxy S GT I9000

Update!!!
After the first beta release, xda developers are back with the beta2 release of Ice Cream Sandwich Android 4.0 Beta 2 for Samsung Galaxy S GT i9000.
Warning: This release is only for the International version of SGS GTI9000
Any one interested in installing the beta2 ROM on their devices can download the ROM & Kernel from here.
In case your phone is not rooted, you need to root it first. (Warning: Rooting as well as installing this ICS update will void your warranty)
In order to install theICS you need to first ensure that you have the latest superuser 3.0.6 installed on your rooted device. You can get the superuser from here.
Once you have downloaded the superuser and copied it to the root folder in the sdcard, switch off your device, enter into recovery mode by pressing the Volume Up, Power off and Home key at the same time. Then, navigate to the “Install zip from sdcard” option. In this, navigate to the “Choose zip from sdcard” option and select the Superuser-3.0.6-efgh-signed.zip file and flash it.
Samsung Galaxy S GT I9000 Recovery Mode Screen Capture
Next, copy both the rom and kernel files to the root folder of your phone and do as follows:
If all the above instructions are followed correctly, you should be able to run ICS Beta 2 smoothly on your device.
30 thoughts on “ICS Beta 2 Release for Samsung Galaxy S GT I9000

  1. Does GPS, Bluetooth, 3g and other functions which were not working with the Alpha version, work with this??? It is important to know… If all is well then I’ll go for it… Please reply asap.

    Thanks

    • Well this is the beta version… many changes have taken place now…
      Following is the changelog for Beta2:

      What doesn’t work:
      1. Phone Encryption
      2. Video Recording

      What does work:
      1. Hardware Acceleration
      2. Audio
      3. Calls/SMS
      4. Wifi
      5. SDCards (internal and external)
      6. Market
      7. Contacts/Calender Sync
      8. Camera
      9. Panorama Mode
      10. Face Unlock (Though not accurate enough)
      11. GPS
      12. Data Usage (All EDGE/HSDPA)
      13. USB Support
      14. Bluetooth

      • My configuration as of now is:

        Model Number: GT-I9000
        Firmware version: 2.3.5
        Baseband version: I9000XXJVT
        Kernel version: 2.6.35.7-I9000XXJVT-CL617736 stratosk@semaphore
        Build number: JellyBeanRom JVT Final
        Hand Crafted by: Team Obssessed Crew

        So far my config is giving me the best result as I have gone through many updates… Only having problem with the SNS setting of facebook by the built in “social hub”. Every other functions are flawless… Even I have lockscreen menu where I get to choose more than 12 lock screen and also have Dock settings.

        I again request you to let me know whether my device is better or your ROM… Only then I will decide what to do next…

        Thanks in advance…

        Fahim’s Galaxy… πŸ™‚

    • In that case what you can do is try and flash the kernel as well as rom one more time. Many users have faced this problem.
      Also, you can try to get to ICS by first installing CyanogenMod 7.1 and then flashing to ICS Beta2 using the ClockworkMod Recovery.
      Hope that solves your problem!!

  2. hey there i have a sgs2 rooted and am currently running 2.3.7 MUIU rom i find that i can’t install the new kernel or the new rom i have superuser latest version and everything.. in the recovery menu it says installation aborted when i try .. any ideas?

  3. Hi.
    my SD Cards doesn’t to work.
    what do i do?

    displays the message.

    Unfortunately,the process android.process.media has stooped.

  4. hey i have something to know about this rom. if the video recording isn’t working how can i install a camera for another androids?

    • This one is still an issue, but there is a way to access the same.

      You shall be able to access the SD Card, both Internal as well as External using any of the file manager apps like Astro File Manager.

  5. An fascinating communicating is worth report. I anticipate that you should indite writer on this issue, it power not be a bias issue but mostly people are not enough to utter on much topics. To the next. Cheers like your ICS Beta 2 Release for Samsung Galaxy S GT I9000 Going Beyond Windows…

  6. I do not even know how I stopped up right here, but I assumed this submit was once good. I don’t realize who you might be however definitely you’re going to a famous blogger if you aren’t already ;). Sorry for bad English Cheers from India!

  7. I have been exploring for a little bit for any high-quality articles or blog posts on this kind of area . Exploring in Yahoo I at last stumbled upon this site. Reading this info So i’m happy to convey that I have a very good uncanny feeling I discovered exactly what I needed. I most certainly will make certain to don’t forget this website and give it a look on a constant basis.

  8. Simply want to say your article is as astonishing. The clarity in your post is simply cool and i can assume you’re an expert on this subject. Fine with your permission let me to grab your feed to keep up to date with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please carry on the enjoyable work.

  9. I am on 4.0.3 on my Samsung galaxy s i9000 (OneCosmic RC3.1).
    What baseband/modem should i use for India? There is a problem with the call reception and i wanted to try out a different modem in case tat solves my problem.

Leave a Reply

