Android ICS 4.0.3 RC2 by Onecosmic Installation Tutorial for SGS GT I9000

Happy New Year to all the readers of Going Beyond Windows…
This is the best New Year gift by Onecosmic. He released the RC2 version of Android Ice Cream Sandwich 4.0.3 for Samsung Galaxy S Phones ( GT I9000 the International Version, I9000b, Captivate as well Vibrant)
Some pre-requisites to be followed are:
  • Taking the back-up: This is a must thing that should be done. Get into Clockworkmod Recovery and select backup. It would take around 10 minutes to complete the backup. Please make sure that the battery is fully charged.
  • Alternatively, you can take the back up of only the apps using Astro File Manager or Titanium Backup which are freely available in the android market.
  • Also, to take up the backup of sms and call logs you may use SMS Backup+ which again is freely available in android market. It syncs your call logs and sms as labels to your gmail account.
  • Now, for the new ICS RC2, the following downloads should be made:
  1. The ROM: ICS_4.0.3_r1-RC2.zip This is a common ROM for all the variants be it I9000, I9000b, Vibrant or Captivate
  2. Kernel for GT I9000: ICS-RC2-Glitch-i9000.zip
  3. Kernel for I9000b: ICS-RC2-Glitch-i9000b.zip
  4. Kernel for Vibrant: ICS-RC2-Glitch-Vibrant.zip
  5. Kernel for Captivate: ICS-RC2-Glitch-Captivate.zip
  6. SuperUser for ICS: Superuser-3.0.7-efghi-signed.zip
  7. Copy the respective ROM, Kernel as well as the SuperUser to the root folder of your Internal SD Card.
—-Make sure the the device has 100% battery so that, there aren’t any problems during the flashing—-
Some basics for the first timers:
To enter into recovery mode one needs to press the three button combo:
Key Combination for entering Recovery/Download mode on Samsung Galaxy S GT I9000, I9000b, Vibrant, Captivate https://phanse.wordpress.com

IF YOU ARE FLASHING FOR THE FIRST TIME: (You should be able to flash this on top any ROM, but some people report flashing over CM7 works better)

In case you have already rooted, then you can straight away follow the steps:

  1. Install the respective Kernel according to your phone model. For this enter into the recovery, Move to install zip from sdcard using the Volume Up/Down Keys, and click on the Home key to enter. Then select choose zip from sdcard and in the next screen navigate to the kernel file and select it.
  2. Again go to Recovery, clean Cache and Dalvik Cache and do Factory reset.
  3. Install ROM from sdcard. For this enter into the recovery, Move to install zip from sdcard using the Volume Up/Down Keys, and click on the Home key to enter. Then select choose zip from sdcard and in the next screen navigate to the ROM file and select it.
  4. Install ‘SuperUser’ (Superuser-3.0.7-efghi-signed.zip)
  5. 6.Install ‘Kernel’ again following the steps in point 1.
  6. Reboot

·If you get into a bootloop after these steps, redo the above steps.

· Note that first run may take a couple of minutes!

·If you are stuck in ICS logo animation go to recovery again, wipe dalvik / wipe cache / do a factory reset / install superuser / install kernel

· If you have actually read and tried all these instructions and are still stuck PLEASE POST YOUR PROBLEMS IN IN THE COMMENTS SECTION AND THEY WILL GET ADDRESSED ASAP.

UPDATES:

CHANGELOG:

  • Based on Glitch Kernel
  • Auto brightness is now fixed
  • WiFi tether is working now
  • MediaScanner should not repeat data anymore
What works:
  • Hardware Acceleration
  • RIL(Radio Interface Link = Calls / Texts / Data)
  • Audio 
  • Touch 
  • Wi-Fi
  • Both SD Cards (Internal & External)
  • Android Market access
  • Contacts sync
  • Calendar sync
  • Camera(Video Recording & Pictures)
  • Panorama mode
  • Face Unlock 
  • GPS
  • Bluetooth
  • Wired tethering
  • FM Radio(Download Spirit FM from Android Market)
  • Wireless tethering
 For those having sensors problems,  just move the file sensors.aries.so from /vendor/lib/hw to /system/lib/hw and reboot
24 thoughts on “Android ICS 4.0.3 RC2 by Onecosmic Installation Tutorial for SGS GT I9000

  1. For the users who have not yet rooted their phones, they will have to wait for a while as I am in the middle of preparing the tutorial for rooting the phone as well.

  2. I Keep Doing All the Things In The Guidee And Mi Phone Goes into a Loop and i Cant Get it to CWM again All i can do Is To Put It On Download Modee and Fix Him With Odin

    I Got a Samsung Gravity T959 Running Gingerbread 2.3.5 UVUKI1 Can you help mE?

  3. i already installed this rom it’s working fine on my gt i9000 rather than rc1, still no tv out for this rom, i cann’t root this rom i tried many times and this is not my first time to do this kind rom upgrading.so all my rooted application i cann’t used. that’s the main thing.

    wifi its ok
    Bluetooth ok
    android market ok
    sd card its ok you can click it now rather than in 4.0 rc1
    video player also working fine on me
    wifi hotspot ok
    hardware accelerator working fine

    thats only i observe till now cause i run it just 7hrs and still comparing other issue in ics 4.0 rc1 but please arranged the root access which is very important for all users like me.

  4. Hey,

    I have a I9000 with 2.3.3 DDJV5. I have odin, but dont have the tar file. Please help me find the file. I have been googling for the file from morning and couldnt find it.

    Thanks

  5. I am a first timer.. providing you all the details

    Baseband: I9000DDJV5
    Kernel: 2.6.35.7-I9000DDJV9-CL312456-root@SE-S605#2
    Build Number: GINGERBREAD.DDJV9

  6. Thank you so much,,it worked fine with me ,however the Superuser each time I install it it gives me an error setup aborted with no reasons,,,also to mention that each time I connect the device to my machine through the usb connection it gives me an error “android.process.media has stopped” any reason for this behavior ???

      • Basically ,the latest one even didn’t work !! also gave me the same message aborted,,, and what about the USB connection with the machine ??

  7. Pingback: Software2Tech.com » Download Android 4.0.3 RC2.1 For Samsung Galaxy S

  8. i got the same message superuser aborted but it still works just takes longer to load
    just need to find the answer for the usb not recognised issue
    apart from that its all good

  9. i keep gettin stuck at ics boot screen… i followed all the steps twice and still same result… that’s my pda which is from the leaked version of the ics on gingerbread I9000XXJVU

  10. I initially got this to work and it was good, got dumb and tried to flash myics_rc2_2.1.10.zip and bootlooped, tried to flash back to 403 and being stuck since.

    my sgs is stuck on recovery mode please help…. tried everything and each time i reboot system now it goes back to recovery.. any thoughts? how do i get back to gingerbread?

Leave a Reply

