Android Tutorial: Install TeamICSSGS 4.0.3 RC 4.2 for Samsung Galaxy S

The RC4.2 of Ice Cream Sandwich 4.0.3 by Team ICSSGS (Previously known as Onecosmic’s Port) for Samsung Galaxy S GT I9000 (International), I9000b, Captivate & Vibrant is now available. The main features of this ROM are:

Features:

  • Based from the latest source code from Google themselves(Android 4.0.3)
  • Full Google Apps suite
  • Platypus as a kernel base
  • Pre-rooted
  • init.d Support
  • Full Hardware Acceleration
  • Fully working RIL(Radio Interface Link = Calls / Texts / Data)
  • Fully working Audio
  • Touchscreen works perfectly
  • Fully working Wi-Fi
  • Fully working Bluetooth
  • Both SD Cards (Internal & External) working
  • Fully working Calendar sync
  • Fully working Camera (Video Recording & Pictures)
  • Touch to focus
  • Panorama mode in Camera works
  • Face Unlock
  • Fully Working GPS
  • Fully working Wired tethering
  • Fully working Wireless tethering
  • Fully working FM Radio(AOSP does not support FM, download Spirit FM from Android Market)
  • Fully working sensors
  • Live OC Support (download NSTools from Market)
  • USBOTG Support (Connect your HDDs, DSLRs, etc… to your phone the way they are connected in Galaxy S II, Developement stage)
  • Voodoo Sound
  • Voodoo Colour
  • Battery Life eXtender
  • Deep Idle
The following are the major changes that took place from the previous release, RC 4.1:

Changelog:

  • New fixed framework to include wifi fix without blur issues
  • New script to specifically set EFS permissions (to fix people losing IMEI’s)
  • Reverted back to the ICS quick search
  • News & Weather widget restored
  • Updated modem to JVU

Some pre-requisites to be followed are:

  • Taking the back-up: This is a must thing that should be done. Get into Clockworkmod Recovery and select backup. It would take around 10 minutes to complete the backup. Please make sure that the battery is fully charged.
  • Alternatively, you can take the back up of only the apps using Astro File Manager or Titanium Backup which are freely available in the android market.
  • Also, to take up the backup of sms and call logs you may use SMS Backup+ which again is freely available in android market. It syncs your call logs and sms as labels to your gmail account.
  • Root users can make a nandroid backup using the Clockworkmod Recovery App.
  • If you have encrypted your phone, please remove the encryption before flashing. It might cause problems.

Now, for the Installation of the ICS 4.0.3 RC4.1, the following downloads must be made and copied to the root folder of the phone:

—Make sure the the device has 100% battery so that, there aren’t any problems during the flashing—

Now, to flash this ROM, it is necessary that your current ROM is a rooted one. If not, then please head here to install Android 2.3.6 and root it from here (For Samsung Galaxy S GT I9000 only). Then, you may continue installing ICS by doing the following:

To enter into recovery mode one needs to press the three button combo:

  1. Get into Recovery Mode
  2. Clean Cache and do Factory reset.
  3. Install ROM from sdcard. For this enter into the recovery, move to install zip from sdcard using the Volume Up/Down Keys, and click on the Home key to enter. Then select choose zip from sdcard and in the next screen navigate to the ROM file and select it.
  4. In case, the phone does not go past the boot screen, follow Step 1-3 again. That should solve the issue.

Some Know Issues:

  • Lockscreen occasionally does not react to touch
  • Formatting external sd formats internal
  • Facebook sync pictures are low resolution

**PLEASE NOTE THAT TRYING TO FORMAT THE EXTERNAL SD CARD WILL NOT FORMAT IT BUT INSTEAD IT WILL FORMAT THE INTERNAL MEMORY CARD**

If you have actually read and tried all these instructions and are still stuck PLEASE POST YOUR PROBLEMS IN IN THE COMMENTS SECTION AND THEY WILL GET ADDRESSED ASAP.

63 thoughts on “Android Tutorial: Install TeamICSSGS 4.0.3 RC 4.2 for Samsung Galaxy S

    • Can you please elaborate on the issue? If you mean to say that the phone is stuck at the boot screen the logo, then go back to the recovery and wipe cache, factory reset, wipe dalvik cache and re-flash the ROM

  1. Hi,

    Alright..KUDOS dor continuing the “S” series !!
    I have read and followed explicit as usual.
    The loop problem is also plaguing me.
    In previous versions, you pointed to specific KERNAL’s. NONE of the links work to download them.
    Could you please create new DL links “Vibrant in my case”
    I can’t even get into recovery mode. I am forced to ODIN.
    All pre requisites fulfilled.
    THANK YOU

  2. Do you know if ICS is capable of acting like 2.3.6 when text messages are sent and the notification for the text is on the unlock screen? Instead of having to unlock the screen and then open up ‘Messaging’… Thank you

  3. I love this ROM guys! However, I am probably one of the few that need the device to turn on automatically when plugging in power. I am using my android phone as a car pc and when I turn my car on, I want the device to turn on automatically. I saw this was an “issue” in some of the earlier versions. Can someone let me know if RC1 is still available? Or, can someone let me know if this is a Kernel or a ROM thing. Thanks!

    • No, it won’t please don’t even try to… it will crash.. I shall try to find some S Plus specific ROMs and Update soon!! Keep following! 🙂

  4. Hello. I installed the ICS on the GT-I9001 – i didn’t read this thread before i did it, now my device wont even turn on — HELP PLZ!!!!!!!

    • Now that it is done…. Just check if you are still able to go to the download mode. If yes then download the official ROM for your phone and flash it via ODIN

  5. cannot attach video to email or sms. screen seems unreponsive at times- like on unlock screen and whne dialing a number it misses a few numbers

  6. i’ve installed this rom and found amazing. but missing google maps and i can’t even install it from market it says tht this app not available for my country, also having display blinking while playing 720p videos. every thing else is just perfect

  7. everything went smoothly until i rebooted the phone. its stuck on the samsung and google loop. HELP!!!!! WILL NOT ENTER INTO RECOVERY MODE

  8. Best ICS rom till now but 2 problems i found…
    1. Games lag tooooooooooooo much…
    2. Many things force closes after using them for sometime…
    Plzzzzzzzzzzzz plzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz plzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz help me asap… 🙂

    • Since the ROM is still in developmental stage nothing can be done for the same as of now other than waiting for the release of the next version from the developers’ end. Shall update with new tutorial, once the next update is released. Keep yourself subscribed to receive the notification for the same.

  9. the 3g doesn’t work, i have “Maroc telecom “as operator “morocco” i see in a privious post that i must flash another modem , but i don’t now wich one ??

    • If you have someone around u using the STOCK ROM, check in his settings–>about phone–>baseband version: I9000XXXXX where XXXXX is the modem for your country.

  10. I installed this ROM (4.0.3 RC 4.2) however as with the earlier version (4.0.3 RC 4.1) Viber does not work properly (I can hear others while others can NOT hear me) I did all sort of reseting and wiping can you kindly suggest a solution! Thanx in advance

  11. I flashed this rom and all
    works fine. But i cannot get my galaxy s to connect to kies anymore. how do i get that back?

  12. Dear :
    I had Galaxy S GT-I9000 this is my first job for did this update my mobile >> i want how i make copy all these file at mobile ( make new folder or but where i did past all files for upgrade ) ,,
    please tell me how make it

    Best Regards
    Fuad

  13. Hello i m using samsung vibrant sght959 i bought it from california and i m trying to upgrade it but i m not getting any way to do it right now its firmware 2.1 and please help me out with this my phone sucks big time please help me with this if you got any way to upgrade it please tell me please help me out with this thank you…….

  14. please can i flash cream sandwich from my current froyo 2.2 on my captivate ??? and is it really necessary to get bootloaders on my captivate. ??? ::::::::: but i have tried using odin3 but odin doesn’t find my phone on download mode but odin does find it in normal mode, and i have came across this application in the android market that can flash a kernel on my captivate but am scared to use it Cz i Dont wanna brick my phone. but what i wanna know is. Is it necessary for bootloaders on my Samsung captivate before i can run a custom ROM ice cream sandwich. and please give ma a good link for ICS 4.0.1 Cz i Dont wanna get a wrong ics or a corrupt ics. please help. thanks

    • First off, yes this ROM can be installed on Captivate
      Next, regarding ODIN not detecting your phone, are you sure you have installed the samsung captivate drivers on your PC? also try any previous odin version
      You need to root your captivate first.
      Also, it is necessary for you to first switch over to gingerbread and then flash ics, because this one will be using the GB bootloaders.

      if you follow the tutorial step by step, rest assured, there won’t be any problem then!!

      • I have installed a custom ROM on my captivate now. I finally flashed a kernel with sgs kernel flasher that had a clockwokmod . everything including Bluetooth and 3g&2g is working except for. if I connect my phone to the computer it doesn’t extract all files. I mean its not accessing my storage memory for file transfer from computer to my phone and vise versa. its saying storage card not access able. and errors . ****I dint install the above custom ROM .I think this is ICS 4.0.3. I got another ICS 4.0.4 from this link:: ******** . so that is my only problem now on my phone. I can’t make a file transfer from my p.c to my phone. and if someone wants a CM9 ICS 4.0.4 for your device should message me for the link. my email is ******** or ********

        • Hey there, from what I understood is most probably you have installed a CM Nightly ROM which are unstable ROMs released by the developer for testing purpose only. Hence the problem. You’ll either have to get an update from the developer or switch to some other ROM. Since you are not able to connect your phone to the PC for file transfer, I suggest you to go back to Samsung stock gingerbread 2.3.6 ROM using the download mode and ODIN and then flash the ICS ROM of your choice.

  15. hello i have rooted and am using ics 4.0.3 on xxjvu ….one issue i am faccing is dat my screen doesnt light up upon receiving msgs and notifications but it does on calls plzzzz help plzzzz i love this rom i have galaxy i9000

    • I am not really sure what could be the exact reason, but you could try out the following one by one and keep checking if it works:
      1. Go to recovery–>advanced–>fix permissions
      or
      2. Go to recover factory reset, clear cache, advanced–>clear dalvik cache (Warning–> data loss)
      or
      3. flash the rom again
      or
      4. flash the latest devil/semaphore kernel

  16. Do you mind if I quote a couple of your articles as long
    as I provide credit and sources back to your weblog?
    My blog site is in the exact same niche as yours
    and my visitors would really benefit from a lot
    of the information you provide here. Please let me
    know if this alright with you. Regards!

Leave a Reply

