Android Tutorial | Install Dark Knight 3.0 | ICS 4.0.4 [Leaked] for SGS GT I9000

XDA Developer nasif619 is back with one more update for the ROM Dark Knight. This ROM originally made for the Nexus S has been ported to the Samsung Galaxy S GT I9000 (International). The ROM is based on the Android Ice Cream Sandwich v 4.0.4 (Leaked). The main features of the ROM are:

Features:

  • Very Fast System
  • Fat-Free ROM
  • Zoom on camera
  • Pre-rooted
  • Full init.d Support
  • Touch to focus
  • Voodoo Colour
  • Notification widgets
  • Zipalinged
  • Insert Busybox
  • Tweaks in Build.prop
  • Best battery life [NO Android OS BUG]
  • WiFi Tethering
  • HD 720p Video recording
  • GPS tweaks
  • Add free rom
  • Necessary app installed on your data partition
  • Full USB transfer speed
Changelog:
  • Akop rom control
  • External SD card fix
  • Import from simcard
  • Signal bar fixed
  • Necessary apps are installed in data partition
  • Galaxy s settings
  • T9 Dailer
  • New wallpaper added to launcher
  • Build.prop and INIT.D script Updated
  • Chrome browser fix
  • More accurate GPS

PLEASE NOTE THAT THIS ROM IS EXCLUSIVELY FOR SAMSUNG GALAXY S GT I9000 (INTERNATIONAL) ONLY!!

To install this ROM, some pre-requisites to be followed are:

  • Taking the back-up: You can take the back up of only the apps using Astro File Manager or Titanium Backup (Root Users) which are freely available in the android market.
  • Also, to take up the backup of sms and call logs you may use SMS Backup+ which again is freely available in android market. It syncs your call logs and sms as labels to your gmail account.
  • Root users can make a nandroid backup using the Clockworkmod Recovery App.

Now, for the Installation of Dark Knight 4.0.4, the following downloads must be made and copied to the root folder of the phone:

—Make sure the the device has 100% battery so that, there aren’t any problems during the flashing—

Now, to flash this ROM, it is necessary that your current ROM is a rooted one. If not, then please head here to install Android 2.3.6 and root it from here. Then, you may continue installing Dark Knight 4.0.4 by doing the following: To enter into recovery mode one needs to press the three button combo:

  1. Get into Recovery Mode
  2. Clean Cache and do Factory reset.
  3. Install ROM from sdcard. For this enter into the recovery, move to install zip from sdcard using the Volume Up/Down Keys, and click on the Home key to enter. Then select choose zip from sdcard and in the next screen navigate to the ROM file and select it.


WARNING: THIS ROM IS IN ITS DEVELOPMENT STAGE AND MAY NOT BE FULLY FUNCTIONAL. SO THERE ARE ALL THE CHANCES OF HAVING INSTANCES WHEN WIFI/DATA DOESN’T WORK. PLEASE CONSIDER THIS ISSUE FIRST AND THEN INSTALL THE ROM.

**PLEASE NOTE THAT TRYING TO FORMAT THE EXTERNAL SD CARD WILL NOT FORMAT IT BUT INSTEAD IT WILL FORMAT THE INTERNAL MEMORY CARD**

If you have actually read and tried all these instructions and are still stuck PLEASE POST YOUR PROBLEMS IN IN THE COMMENTS SECTION AND THEY WILL GET ADDRESSED ASAP.

41 thoughts on “Android Tutorial | Install Dark Knight 3.0 | ICS 4.0.4 [Leaked] for SGS GT I9000

  1. I just installed this on a I896 Captivate (rogers). It is very awesome and is working great so far. I also installed a new theme. The battery life so far is excellent. Flashed at 2:00pm and right now at 1:10am i still have 91%.

    • I thought this was only for GT I9000 (International)…. anyways since you’ve got it working right… I guess Captivate users can also flash!! 🙂

  2. Okay, so I’ve done up step 2: But when I’m in Recovery mode and tries to install Dak KNight 3.zip – it says E:Short write of /tmp/sideload/package.zip (No space left on device) Installation aborted.

    But I’ve done a data/factory reset and wiped cache partition, and I have about 5 gigs on my device built-in sdcard.
    What should I do?

  3. Just installed this on my SGS.
    Works great!

    Some questions on the keyboard though:
    1. Can I get swype back again?
    2. Can I get the numbers as an extra row above the “qwerty” characters?

  4. After install Android Ice Cream Sandwich v 4.0.4 on my Samsung GT-I9000 baseband version is I9000XXJVT and kernel version: 3.1.10-i9000 Devil_1.1.6b_BFS_BLN_CMC from Android 2.3.6 I9000XXJVU. What is wrong?

  5. Thank you for your attention, but:
    1-error message: “unfortunately, Gmail has stopped”
    2-allshare.app not work
    3-gps not show like BT, WI-FI and battery
    4- how can i change dial mode, ex: 123 456 7890 to
    1234 456 789

  6. Hi!I have a prob. Why is wifi tethering can’t work properly. it connect to any device but can’t connect direct into internet. Any suggestion plss ty.

  7. hi… i am using 2.3.3 and i have rooted it…when i download the rom it goes into a loop and i have to take off my battery and put my coustom rom again..i have tried it many times…do i have to put 2.3.6 first to get this rom…if so can u plz tel me the link so that i can folow steps and get 2.3.6…thanks in advance

  8. Hi,

    Really awesome ROM! At installing it (from 2.3.6 rooted) first the kernel went up and on second flashing when the first finished the ROM went up too.
    Now, it is obviously not a final version, but truly impressive work, many thanks to nasif619 and for you phanse for posting it.
    If it helps to mention a few bits as I was using (testing?) it:
    1. sometimes it slows down – ?reason
    2. video apps (videos/youtube) after a while loose video output, but audio carries on, and the apps slow down
    3. various apps (music, built in email client, google play) stop with message “unfortunately [app name] has stopped.”
    4. buttons next to home button stay lit, when screen is off. For what reason I didn’t really find out.
    For problems #1&#2 a reboot is helpful, for #3 I used Titanium a lot. Started with a reflash and backed up everything I thought I’m going to use. It seemed necessary as once an app froze, reboot seemed tedious. So from time to time I need to restore them, but it mostly sorts them out.

    Voodoo sound is amazing, never installed a kernel compatible yet, so this time it was two birds with one stone…

    I suppose if someone is not OK with playing a bit around it, just wants something that is flawless, should turn away. If on the other hand, you’d like ICS, before it rolls out to your handset (if it ever will to i9000), and OK with working around small problems, but having this amazing piece of work in your hands, than it’s a 100% keeper, until an update. BTW any news on updates following this one?
    Could the radio be ported to it somehow from the 2.x ROMs? Spirit FM looks really rubbish and I have other concerns to it too. I do appreciate that radio apps seem to be extremely difficult, not many FM tuner apps out there.

    For a stable version would definitely donate.

    cheers
    Bence

    • Yes, since the ROM is still in the development stage, plus the source code used here is supposedly the leaked source code for the Nexus (Google hasn’t officially released it) yet having the ROM for use is awesome.
      I appreciate the time you’ve taken to point out the problems. I’ll try to find any solutions I can and revert…
      Cheers!!

  9. Hello,
    I just installed this and it looks very nice. But I installed Titanium Backup, restored my apps, but there aren’t any of those apps in the app list after restoring. Also my home button doesn’t work. I would like some help :(.

    • AFAIK data restoration won’t be working… all you would be able to do is restore just the apps. I would personally recommend Astro File Manager to restore if you are not going to restore the data (which is the case here) 🙂

  10. By the way, I just noticed that if my screen is locked (I don’t know if it’s the right word), the screen lights up when pressing the home button. But if I press the home button again, nothing happens.

  11. I also just saw that when I restore only one app and not all of them, with App+Data it says it failed, and if I restore App only it says it worked, but still I don’t see the app..

  12. Music and Image databases are f****d up.
    Everynow and then it doubles, with fake entries…

    for example, i have 250 songs. After a while it will say i have 500, with only half of them playing…same with pictures.
    When i go to the settings->apps->all apps->media storage and clear the data there (reset database) it will rebuild (after x time) the databases and they’ll be fine, but not for long….

    kinda annoying!

    Btw:
    At my phone the buttons will light up when i have a new message, sms, whatsapp or email or whatever…

    • Now that the ROM is not a stable release, you should not be expecting it to run flawlessly. The next update is has already been released which I shall be updating on the blog soon. Keep following then…

    • Well I9000 is not known to be good in taking pictures in bad light. You can try to modify the exposure timings in the camera settings manually to achieve better quality.

Leave a Reply

